Liverpool

This week we have had the visit of four teachers. They are from Germany and the United Kingdom. We have worked together in the past and want to keep working in coming years. Let’s keep our fingers crossed so we are able to do so…

Yesterday I asked my colleagues to present on their cities and schools to my students in 1st year G. Our English colleagues prepared this Powerpoint presentation I want to share here with you:

Liverpool BROUGHTON HALL

I include here other websites where you can learn more about Liverpool: The Beatles, Liverpool and Everton, The Liverpool poets, etc.

http://www.liverpoolcityportal.co.uk 

http://www.thebeatles.com/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Mersey_Sound_(book)

Minister for Exams

Brian Patten

When I was a child I sat an exam.

This test was so simple

There was no way i could fail.

Q1. Describe the taste of the Moon.

It tastes like Creation I wrote,

it has the flavour of starlight.

Q2. What colour is Love?

Love is the colour of the water a man

lost in the desert finds, I wrote.

Q3. Why do snowflakes melt?

I wrote, they melt because they fall

on to the warm tongue of God.

There were other questions.

They were as simple.

I described the grief of Adam

when he was expelled from Eden.

I wrote down the exact weight of

an elephant’s dream

Yet today, many years later,

For my living I sweep the streets

or clean out the toilets of the fat hotels.

Why? Because constantly I failed my exams.

Why? Well, let me set a test.

Q1. How large is a child’s imagination?

Q2. How shallow is the soul of the Minister for exams?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Just for fun, you may remember Rafa Benítez, Xavi Alonso, Fernando Torres, etc. Liverpool was known as the Spanish Liverpool and they made this funny commercial for a famous sports brand…

 

Leave a Reply

