American stars

Image

During the last weeks students in the bilingual section have prepared short biographies of famous Americans. The choice is really wide and includes writers, politicians, scientists, musicians, civil leaders, etc. Once they have written their biographies, they were also asked to prepare a star in which they should include the most relevant info of the person.

It was not easy to choose the 107 Americans but all teachers in the bilingual programme helped and made useful suggestions. We wanted to include the 50 states and luckily we managed to include at least one important person who was born in the state or had a close relationship with it.

Making the map of the United States was also great fun and so were the other activities we prepared for students in 2nd CSE E: a memory card game (capital and state), a questionnaire, a find someone who activity, a matching activity (25 beautiful pictures of American landmarks to be placed in a map of the States), online jigsaw puzzles, etc. Soon you will be able to see more pictures of the workshops. Not only did they have fun, so did Jaime, Alejandro and our language assistants: Camille, Jeremy, Miffy and Shannon.

Out of the activities we proposed, I would like to share several online jigsaw puzzles I created. A jigsaw puzzle is a picture made of a lot of small pieces that you have to put together to form the picture again. Have fun with them!

#1 Lincoln Statue (©Jaime García) – http://www.jigsawplanet.com/?rc=play&pid=1a6c2ea9bb24

#2 San Francisco Cable Car (©Fred Hsu) – http://www.jigsawplanet.com/?rc=play&pid=05a88d2d52f5

#3 Central Park in New York (©Jaime García) – http://www.jigsawplanet.com/?rc=play&pid=3263e5684ad3

#4 Yellowstone Castle Geyser (©Flicka) – http://www.jigsawplanet.com/?rc=play&pid=243ccf045fc2

#5 4th July Fireworks (©Jaime García) – http://www.jigsawplanet.com/?rc=play&pid=2d6669ac3666

If you want more, here is a word search with 20 famous American people. Can you find them? Do you know why they are famous?

R F M E L E A N O R R O O S E V E L T Z
K M I C H A E L P H E L P S Y O M O J Z
B S V S E M B O Q G E O R G E L U C A S
Q T F F U S J U M R A Z H L K U D P J Q
J E Q Z V Y S I Q V U K M Y Y K H H A S
S V X E R N E S T H E M I N G W A Y N Y
C E F P N A M A E S L I D N W A C J D I
F J K R R H Z R L Y V C G M O Z O C Y L
N O G A B T L M L R B H Q A G K H C W R
P B A R S Z D S A F B A P R L E C P A S
T S X E N Y T T F L L E F G W L P W R H
P O B T E V P R I U O L R U S V Z T H Z
L F K H I A F O T P U J C L L I W R O S
M Y B A L P E N Z T I A H I S S O U L A
A Z R F A K W G G J S C N S J P E M A L
T Q O R R J H B E J A K U Y T R A A B L
T H H A M E Q O R H M S K D V E T N U Y
G I E N S S O O A D A O M S Z S J C V R
R H N K T S E Q L V Y N Q W X L N A P I
O A R L R E Z Q D X A A V M W E N P D D
E F Y I O O T V H A L J I D J Y A O A E
N Z F N N W M A R Y C A S S A T T T Y L
I W O B G E Z J Q O O Q N B L O P E B V
N Q R S E N I R J L T S C J Z J P L Y P
G E D L K S C Z P Q T S R D C I D X C J

Enjoy your holidays!

Jaime

 

Leave a Reply

