Happy Thanksgiving!

Today, the 4th Thursday of November, people in the U.S. celebrate Thanksgiving. The holiday is traditionally marked by a giant feast featuring foods suck as turkey, sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, green beans, and pumpkin pie. It is common for people to spend the day with family and to reflect on what they are thankful for this year.

Many classes at Clara Campoamor have been celebrating Thanksgiving, and we will be sharing more photos and excerpts of student work in the coming days. But to start us off, here are some of the things the 2nd Baccalaureate C students are thankful for:

I give thanks for my life.
I am thankful for having my mind and my imagination.
I am thankful for having an awesome, caring, and loving family.
I am thankful for being healthy.

I’m so glad that I have the school choir and such a good conductor.
I am grateful for all my friends and family who have helped me in hard moments.
I give thanks for my brother.
I’m so glad that I have poetry.

As more classes write their sentences of gratitude, we will put them together to form a turkey—each sentence will go on a piece of paper representing one of the turkey’s feathers. Pictures are coming soon! But until then, here is a photo of my great aunt chopping sweet potatoes yesterday. She was already starting to help prepare my family’s thanksgiving feast in New York!

Preparing for the Thanksgiving meal
Yesterday, my great aunt (my grandmother’s sister) was already helping to prepare my family’s Thanksgiving feast in New York! Here she is chopping lots of sweet potatoes.
Leave a Reply

