Winter Holidays in the United States and Spain

As we are quickly approaching winter break, students at Clara Campoamor have been learning about how some winter holidays are celebrated around the world. Yesterday, students in 2nd Bachillerato discussed how Christmas, Chanukkah, and New Year’s Eve are celebrated in the United States—and how those celebrations differ in Spain. Take a look at this presentation to see for yourself!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After discussion these different holiday celebrations, the students wrote their own New Year’s resolutions. In the United States, writing New Year’s resolutions is a very common way of reflecting on the past year and setting goals for the coming year. What do you think you could do better in 2016? Could you try to get more sleep? Spend more time with your family? Study harder? Here are some of the New Year’s resolutions the students wrote:

I will finish the orchestra piece I’m composing.
I will talk more with my sister and improve my relationship with my parents.
I’ll try to improve my grades.
I must try parachuting before I turn 20.
I must try to pass all subjects.
I must save more money because I don’t know when I am going to need it.
I will try to study more for exams (not just the day before).
I mustn’t be late to school anymore.
I’ll try to continue studying German and Russian.
I should try to become more patient.
I’ll try to visit my friends who live outside of Madrid.
I’ll try to get fit.
I’ll try not to leave everything for the last moment.
I will try to spend more time with my family.
I’ll try to organize my homework assignments on my own much better and work harder than last year.
I want to travel to my country.
I want to be less scared.
I will improve my English.

If the students follow through on all of these, I’m sure they will have a great year. Here you can see some photos of the New Year’s resolutions—written in the shape of a giant Christmas tree!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

